Oceania 21: Third Summit of Sustainable Development [fr]

Initiated by New Caledonia in 2013, with the support of France, Oceania 21 brings together the 21 Pacific states and territories around the theme of sustainable development and the impact of climate change.


Oceania 21’s third summit of sustainable development was held in New Caledonia from the 28th to the 30th of April 2015.

Mr Anthony Lecren, member of the New Caledonian government, responsible for the environment, and instigator of Oceania 21, summarised the three objectives as follows:

  • 1. To express the solidarity of New Caledonia and the states and territories of Oceania with the states affected by Cyclone Pam (Vanuatu, Tuvalu, Solomon Islands and Kiribati) ;
  • 2. To address the question of the contributions of the Pacific states and territories to the Paris Climate Conference (COP 21),
  • 3. The adoption of the “Lifou Declaration”

The seventeen representatives of the Pacific countries and territories present at the summit* called for a notable change in the approach by the international community concerning the impacts of climate change with which they are already confronted. The adoption of the “Lifou Declaration” highlights the necessity of agreeing on legally binding commitments in Paris during the UN’s 21st Climate Conference (COP 21, Paris, 30 November - 11 December).

The “Lifou Declaration” endorses the objective of limiting global warming “to less than 2, or even 1.5 degrees Celsius per year” and supports a “green and blue” economy, in order to contribute to the reduction of carbon emissions. This declaration represents the contribution of the Pacific region to COP21.

During his visit to New Caledonia in November 2014, Mr François Hollande, President of the French Republic, gave his agreement that the Oceania 21 sit, as the “Summit of sustainable development in the Pacific Island Countries” at COP21.

* New Caledonia (host country), French Polynesia, Niue, Cook Islands, Marshall Islands, Soloman Islands, Samoa, Nauru, Kiribati, Vanuatu, New Zealand, Tokelau, Timor Leste, Wallis and Futuna, Papua New Guinea, Palau, and the Federated States of Micronesia.

New Zealand was represented by the General Consul of New Caledonia, Mr Justin Fepuleai, as well as by Mr Roger Dungan, of the Environment department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

Dernière modification : 14/06/2017

top of the page