Soraya Rhofir named 2017 Te Whare Hēra French artist in Residency [fr]

French artist Soraya Rhofir has been named the 2017 Te Whare Hēra French artist in residence as part of a special initiative between the Embassy of France and Massey University’s College of Creative Arts, Whiti o Rehua School of Art.

Soraya Rhofir - JPEG
Soraya Rhofir, born in 1981 in Paris, has spent ten years developing art which takes the form of collages and uses staged images, from A4 format to on-site installations.

Her work features narratives developed using appropriated images including faces, mascots and 16-bit patterns.

Her work has featured in solo exhibitions in contemporary art centers such as Les Eglises, in the city of Chelles, in 2013, and at Parc Saint-Léger,in Pougues-les-Eaux, in 2012.
She was short-listed for the Prix Ricard in 2010 and for the international short list at Present-Future Artissima in 2014.

In 2016, she worked with film maker Trent Harris as artistic director on his latest movie.

Te Whare Hēra the Wellington International Artist Residency is a non-commercial initiative run by Massey University’s Whiti o Rehua School of Art and the Wellington City Council.

The initiative is designed to bring contemporary international artists to live, work and exhibit in Wellington city. Artists are granted a live/work studio suite situated within the Clyde Quay Wharf Development in downtown Wellington City.

The Te Whare Hēra and French artists partnership, which runs from 2016 until 2018, brings an outstanding French contemporary artist to Wellington at the beginning of each calendar year, from January to June.

The objectives of the Te Whare Hēra residency programme are to offer a hospitable, generative platform for the production of high quality, innovative, creative work by international artists in Wellington, the creative capital of New Zealand, and to enable the best opportunities for the resident artist’s work to be experienced by various audiences.

The residence also aims to foster connections and opportunities for ongoing exchange and collaboration.

The 2016 recipients were Étienne de France and the duo Louise Hervé and Chloé Maillet.

Dernière modification : 19/01/2017

top of the page